Council Members:
Edwina Davies, Iona Davies, Mel Evans, Delyth James, Shân James, Kevin Jenkins, Tegwyn Lewis, David Mason, Gwenan Price, Richard Owen, Eirian Reynolds

Eirian Reynolds, transfers the chain of office to the new chairman Richard Owen 201718


Eirian Reynolds, Chair 2016-17



Mrs Sian James, Chair for 201415

Sian James


Mrs Edwina Davies transfers the chain of office to the new Chairman of Trefeurig Community Council Mr Tegwyn Lewis.

Tegwyn Lewis

The following are duly elected without a contest:

Edwina M. Davies
Trefor Llewelyn Davies
Daniel Jones
John Tegwyn Lewis
Dai Rees Morgan
Richard Owen

The following have been co-opted: Siân James and Eirian Reynolds, Penrhyn-coch and Geoff Pyle, Pen-bont Rhydybeddau, and Dai Mason 

Mrs Pat Walker retires as Council Clerk

Cinio ffarwel i Pat Walker

Friday 6 May, Trefeurig Community Council held a dinner at Llety Parc, Llanbadarn, to honour Mrs Pat Walker, Cwmsymlog, on her retirement as Community Council Clerk, a post she held for 32 years. The evening was organised by Clr. Trefor Davies, the Council chairman, and tributes were paid to Mrs Walker for her exemplary service over the years by former Clr. Daniel Huws and Clr. Edwina Davies. The photograph shows Daniel Jones, Trefor Davies, Kari Walker, Pat Walker, Gwenan Price, Dafydd Sheppard, Richard Owen, Mervyn Hughes, Tegwyn Lewis, and Edwina Davies. Two councilllors were absent - Mel Evans a Dai Rees Morgan.

Trefeurig Community Council's meeting on 15 March confirmed the appointment of Mrs Meinir Jenkins, Llanfarian as its new clerk. Mrs Jenkins brings experience to the work as she is already clerk of Llanfarian and Vaenor Community Councils. Mrs Jenkins will begin her work on 1 April 2011, following the retirement of Mrs Pat Walker, who has served the Council as a Clerk since 1979.

Council members May 2008+
Edwina Davies, Darren Villa, Pen-bont
Trefor Davies, Maes y Rhosyn, Pen-bont
Mel Evans, Gwarcaeau
D. Mervyn Hughes, Ger-y-llan
Evan Daniel Jones, Clawddmelyn
Tegwyn Lewis, Rhos-goch
Richard Owen (Plaid Cymru), 31 Glan Ceulan
D. Rees Morgan, Maes Seilo
Gwenan Price, Dolmaeseilo
David Sheppard (Plaid Cymru), 1 Dolhelyg
Kari Walker, Symlog House, Cwmsymlog

Minutes 22 Feb
Minutes 17 Jan 2012

Minutes 15 Nov
Minutes 18 Oct
Minutes 2011, 20 Sept
Minutes 2011, 19 Jul
Minutes 2011, 22 Jun
Minutes 2011, 17 May
AGM 2011, 17 May
Minutes 2011, 15 Mar (confirmed 19 Apr)
Meeting 2011, 22 Feb
Meeting 2011, 18 Jan

Meeting 2010 7 Dec
Meeting 2010, 16 Nov
Meeting 2010, 19 Oct
Meeting 2010, 21 Sept
Meeting 2010, 20 July
Meeting 2010, 22 June
Meeting 2010, 18 May
Meeting 2010, 20 April
Meeting 2010, 16 Mar
Meeting 2010, 23 Feb
Meeting 2010, 23 Jan

Meeting 2009, 15 Dec
Meeting 2009, 17 Nov
Meeting 2009, 20 Oct
Meeting 2009, 15 Sept
Meeting 2009, 28 July
Meeting 2009, 16 June
Meeting 2009, 19 May
Meeting 2009, 21 April
Meeting 2009, 17 March
Meeting 2009, 17 February
Meeting 2009, 20 January

Meeting 2008, 16 December
Meeting 2008, 25 November
Meeting 2008, 21 October
Meeting 2008, 16 September
Meeting 2008, 29 July
Meeting 2008, 17 June
Meeting 2008, 13 May
Meeting 2008, 15 April
Report of the January 2008 meeting in Tincer, February, page 9.

The Council

The Civil Parish of Trefeurig was established in 1894 and Minutes of Meetings
date from then. Trefeurig Community comprises Penrhyn-coch, Salem, Penrhiwnewydd, Pen-bont Rhydybeddau, Cwmsymlog, Cwmerfyn, Banc y Darren, Cefn-llwyd, Capel Madog and part of Capel Dewi. The area is represented by eleven council members and elections are called every four years.

Income is raised through grants and the precept (?15,000 in 2006/07). Matters within the Council's responsibility include notice boards, public seating, bus shelters, the flag and flag-pole, the War Memorial, monitoring the condition of public rights of way and the provision of new footway lighting. With the help of grants the Council may undertake or promote schemes to benefit the area.
It also makes annual donations to eligible organisations or charities considered to directly benefit the community or its inhabitants.

Members use knowledge gained through involvement in the wider community and representation on local committees, sports and recreation bodies, places of worship, social clubs, primary schools' governing bodies etc., to respond to local needs and press for changes and improvements where possible, particularly in relation to highway and environmental matters, and law and order through consultation with the local police.

The Council is invited to comment on planning matters relevant to the community and on consultative documents issued by Ceredigion County Council, the Welsh Assembly Government, the Police and other public authorities.

Meetings are held monthly at 7.30 pm on the third Tuesday and have until recently alternated between Neuadd y Penrhyn, Penrhyncoch and Ysgol Trefeurig. Agendas are displayed beforehand on Community notice boards; Minutes are kept in English and Welsh and reports of meetings are published in the Cambrian News and Y Tincer.

Members of the public have a statutory right to attend meetings of the Community Council and may address the meeting at the discretion of the Chairman.